Don’t worry. I’m not one to strew my personal angst or the seedier scenes from my speckled past into my essays or on my blog — unless I can have fun with them. Don’s unplanned-for period of unemployment last year wasn’t all that traumatic for us, but it was terrific grist for the writer’s mill, and I’ve used it in two stories.

My essay about sushi and life, “Love at First Bite,” ends with Don being laid off: “…after the initial shock, we looked at each other and shrugged: ‘Let’s go to RK [sushi] for lunch and make a plan.’ Sushi is a luxury now, but we’re champs at tightening the belt and do it with such panache.” This story was just published in the San Diego City College literary anthology, City Works 2012. It’s a print journal, so I can’t link to it here.

But here’s the piece that evolved from the six months that followed, “He just stands there and breathes…,” which has just been published in the on-line journal, Prime Number. And of course I couldn’t leave out Virginia Woolf.

