“In Loving Memory”

“Observe perpetually,” Virginia Woolf said, by which I’m sure she meant, “keep your ears open too.” When I overheard this one-sided conversation, I was stunned–is this person really saying these things? Then, quickly, I picked up my pencil and started jotting it all down. I guess that makes me a writer! I didn’t add to her remarks, just tidied & organized it as a whole and thought some publisher of vignettes, like Vine Leaves, would like it. They did & published “In Loving Memory” in their July issue, here (on page 26).

About Alice Lowe

I am a freelance writer, avid reader and Virginia Woolfophile in San Diego, California. I have published essays and reviews about Virginia Woolf, including "Beyond the Icon: Virginia Woolf in Contemporary Fiction," a monograph in the Bloomsbury Heritage Series published in 2010 by Cecil Woolf Publishers, London. My personal essays have appeared and are forthcoming in numerous literary journals and can be followed on my blog: www.aliceloweblogs.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Personal Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “In Loving Memory”

  1. JR Brega says:

    A gem, ably panned (as gold from a stream) from a torrent of noise. Nicely done!

  2. Paula Maggio says:

    Reblogged this on Blogging Woolf and commented:
    Alice Lowe “observes perpetually” in loving memory of Virginia Woolf.

  3. Paula Maggio says:

    You are a terrific observer, Alice.

  4. Alice — You are a writer I want to get to know. We are both published in the spring/summer Soundings Review. I read your piece and thought, this is my kind of woman, the challenging-yet-similar kind. I have been contemplating a tattoo for some years. Your piece decided me, and gave me an idea about a personal essay, something about the wig, the graduation shoes and a tattoo. Thank you.

  5. wow, if we could only hear ourselves! What an unique & enlightening exposure! Really enjoyed your creative impulse, Alice, to write the “observed” down.

Leave a Reply

