In Praise of Simple Living

I don’t know what made me decide to write about defrosting my freezer–I’ll credit Nora Ephron, who said “Everything is copy.” It’s a throwback to the past & worth capturing for posterity–I don’t know anyone else who does it. And there is something zen-like and spacy about the experience, making it timely with the current craze of “mindfulness,” whatever the hell that is. Finally, ’tis the season for chipping away in a winter wonderland.

The resulting piece, “In Praise of Simple Living (just add ice cream),” has just been published in the provocatively-named journal of creative nonfiction, Embodied Effigies. Click here–I’m on pages 27-28 as the e-book turns (19-20 of the actual magazine).

 

 

About Alice Lowe

I am a freelance writer, avid reader and Virginia Woolfophile in San Diego, California. I have published essays and reviews about Virginia Woolf, including "Beyond the Icon: Virginia Woolf in Contemporary Fiction," a monograph in the Bloomsbury Heritage Series published in 2010 by Cecil Woolf Publishers, London. My personal essays have appeared and are forthcoming in numerous literary journals and can be followed on my blog: www.aliceloweblogs.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Personal Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Praise of Simple Living

  1. Ava Torre-Bueno says:

    That was charming. Once a year I defrost the mini-fridge in my office, but my home fridge does it itself.

    I hope you and Don are well.

    Ava

  2. Roberta says:

    A blast from the past! I remember my first fridge. It had that teeny tiny little freezer at the top. I once scraped so hard that I broke the pipe in the freezer….

Leave a Reply

