I dreamed I went to Berkeley in my Maidenform bra

Some of you will remember the old ads: women in the costumes of professions that were in the realm of impossible or highly unusual for women then–firefighter, astronaut, brain surgeon, symphony conductor, football player, &c–clad in some recognizable trappings of their ‘wannabe’ aspiration (helmet, stethoscope, baton) and provocatively posed to reveal their lacy, pointy undergarment (as if that was the kind of support we needed to achieve equality).

When I first started to write about not going to U.C. Berkeley in the ’60s when I woulda/coulda/shoulda and about my later political awakening, I tied my ruminations to this bizarre recollection, symbolic of the many preposterous things that were in the air back then. Many drafts and a couple of years later the underwear was gone and the essay became ‘Berkeley Revisited,’ in homage to one of my favorite books, Brideshead Revisited.

I’m happy to say the essay is now in print and online at Adelaide Literary Magazine, and you can read it here.

Go Bears!

 

About Alice Lowe

I am a freelance writer, avid reader and Virginia Woolfophile in San Diego, California. I have published essays and reviews about Virginia Woolf, including "Beyond the Icon: Virginia Woolf in Contemporary Fiction," a monograph in the Bloomsbury Heritage Series published in 2010 by Cecil Woolf Publishers, London. My personal essays have appeared and are forthcoming in numerous literary journals and can be followed on my blog: www.aliceloweblogs.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Personal Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I dreamed I went to Berkeley in my Maidenform bra

  1. You go, girl – You had me at the headline! Some 1960s women (like me) may be late-bloomers, but we’re putting on a pretty spectacular show these days.

Leave a Reply

