Worry

 “What, me worry?” is the maxim of Mad Magazine mascot Alfred E. Neuman that many of us grew up with, the sentiment of blissful unconcern echoed in the 1988 song “Don’t Worry, Be Happy.” In the 2015 movie Bridge of Spies, defense attorney James Donovan asks accused Russian spy Rudolf Abel why he isn’t alarmed that he might face the electric chair here or be killed upon his return to the Soviet Union. Abel responds, “Would it help?” 

From my essay “Worry,” published in the tasty and nourishing Potato Soup Journal.

About Alice Lowe

I am a freelance writer, avid reader and Virginia Woolfophile in San Diego, California. My personal essays have been published in more than 90 literary journals and can be followed on my blog: www.aliceloweblogs.wordpress.com. I have published essays and reviews about Virginia Woolf, including two monographs in the Bloomsbury Heritage Series published by Cecil Woolf Publishers, London: "Beyond the Icon: Virginia Woolf in Contemporary Fiction," and "Virginia Woolf as Memoirist."
This entry was posted in Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment