Fishes with feathers and hanging out with Amy Bloom

I was a little skeptical when I first came across The Feathered Flounder, a literary journal that publishes writing by authors who are 60 or older. There’s no question (and no choice) that I qualify, but would I want my work segregated by age? Well, the site won me over. I was instantly enamored with the logo, then impressed with the people behind the scene and the work published. I was especially delighted to see that Amy Bloom, a well-known contemporary author whose work I admire, was a recent contributor.

The piece I submitted has an aging focus–I find myself drawn to the topic a lot these days–as well as some reflections on being the mother of a daughter and the daughter of a mother. I was delighted when it was accepted for the Winter issue, which is now online and linked here: “On the Road Again.” 

And because the contributors are listed alphabetically by first name, not only am I first, but I’m immediately followed by Amy Bloom. That’s what I call keeping good company.

About Alice Lowe

I am a freelance writer, avid reader and Virginia Woolfophile in San Diego, California. I have published essays and reviews about Virginia Woolf, including "Beyond the Icon: Virginia Woolf in Contemporary Fiction," a monograph in the Bloomsbury Heritage Series published in 2010 by Cecil Woolf Publishers, London. My personal essays have appeared and are forthcoming in numerous literary journals and can be followed on my blog: www.aliceloweblogs.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Personal Essays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fishes with feathers and hanging out with Amy Bloom

  1. Dave Lowe says:

    Good article….. Jenn’s quite the woman. Of course, you’re her mother. Good job.

Leave a Reply

