On Cookbooks

Once more I find that food is a sure way of capturing once-buried memories. My recent essay, “On Cookbooks: Collections and Recollection,” travels through the decades, from the first casseroles to Julia and Jacques, from Betty Crocker to Virginia Woolf.

I’m happy to have it published in the latest issue of Eclectica, one of the first journals to publish my writing when I was starting out. Read it here.

About Alice Lowe

I am a freelance writer, avid reader and Virginia Woolfophile in San Diego, California. My personal essays have been published in more than 90 literary journals and can be followed on my blog: www.aliceloweblogs.wordpress.com. I have published essays and reviews about Virginia Woolf, including two monographs in the Bloomsbury Heritage Series published by Cecil Woolf Publishers, London: "Beyond the Icon: Virginia Woolf in Contemporary Fiction," and "Virginia Woolf as Memoirist."
This entry was posted in Essays, Food, Virginia Woolf. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Cookbooks

  1. Pingback: Alice Lowe on cookbooks and Virginia Woolf | Blogging Woolf

  2. Great piece, Alice. I’m a longstanding lover of old and new cookbooks, particularly if they are heavily illustrated and filled with anecdotes, memories, and such. The recipes may not turn out all that well or be appropriate for our current times, but to me they make wonderful reading just for fun.

Leave a comment